Just one more quick post before I take a break…

…Kidding! Hang onto your brains fellow babies because I’m back! I would like to informally apologize for my extended absence… I really don’t have an excuse aside from pure laziness. However, I love my grandma, and G-Money requested more entries so here we are! Clearly we need to play a little catch-up… so I am going to begin with our trip to the Italian/French festival in Tubingen a couple of weeks ago. This festival takes place twice a year over a sequence of four days; once in the fall and once in the spring. It was truly an awesome experience. Vendors filled the streets of Tubingen selling everything you can imagine. A few notables being: an exquisitely hand-carved wooden chess set (€200 BTW!), brightly colored yard ornaments reminiscent of our Family Farm Froggy at the lake, some lovely clay pottery – so lovely in fact, that we purchased two coffee mugs (except I broke mine and am still upset about it) and last but certainly not least, an array of French and Italian wines, all of which you could carry freely throughout the streets because Germans are cool. Here are a few visual aids to help you understand the enormity of this festival…

At every corner I was greeted with a different form of amusement. The entertainment was primarily musicians playing from their culture and background… However there was this guy…

Now, I can’t say for sure if he was supposed to be a mime or a robot, and although he was rather amusing, he failed either way. The rest of the corners were great, though! Very festive!

Kenny was at practice so I was exploring the festival for a couple of hours by myself and happened upon the best Gummy Bear store I ever did see. 

And… true to German fashion…

Lastly, possible cake for this August?

Just kidding, sorry Aunt Lorraine;))

Then finally my darling husband joined me in my explorations!! Look how cute he is:)!

We set out together window shopping and found this nice quirky fellow selling a various assortment of colorful clay creations. I – being a caffeine addict – really loved his coffee mugs. Kenny and I bought a sea-foam green one and a blue one! The sea-foam green mug became a favorite part of my morning routine! Until I broke it. I was so upset, you would have thought my puppy died; luckily, Kenny is used to my emotional overreactions.

Next we tried a bit of yummy gelato. Here is Kenny standing outside of the gelato stand while holding my empty glass of wine (that I forgot to mention) and looking miffed by my incessant picture taking…

We sat down on a bench and enjoyed our gelato while taking in some excellent people-watching. We were making our way for the car when I saw it…

Iced Coffee!!! Except not really…

But it was still really tasty:)

The festival was a really great time – we can’t wait until there is another one!

Before I sign off I wanted to post a picture of the festival at night! It was beautiful!

Cheers!

7 thoughts on “Just one more quick post before I take a break…

  1. Emily & Kenny, What a beautiful town Tubingen is! Grandpa and I enjoy your postings and the great pictures. It seems you’re enjoying your surroundings and getting out to explore. We miss you but it’s a wonderful experience. Love to you both, Grandma

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Are you telling me there isn’t coffee at every corner there? I guess I could live with that if you can walk around with a glass of wine.

  3. I WANT TO VISIT YOU!!! Chris and I are discussing late March… Your pics are super super awesome…. It looks like the cutest picturesque German scene… not like I would know what that looks like!

    Hey! Can we have a post with basketball pictures and Kenny team updates??? I can’t make out their German website very well … :-/

    • Yes! That’s a good idea… I will compile a bunch of photos and make a post of Kenny’s games! As far as the Walter Tiger website goes, you should enter it into “Google Translate” and it will come out in English for you.

      Late March sounds perfect… cannot wait:)

  4. Love your writings and pictures.  Feel so close and so in touch with both of you.  Love you guys.  Miss you Love, GMa

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

